February 26, 2015

'Terry Pendleton Sable yelled out from across the road, about 3 miles from Exeter, NH, "Steve Fugate!" Always a fuzzy feeling when you're walking in an area 1600 miles from home. Terry, from nearby Kingston, NH, has been following me on this walk since I left Vero Beach, FL March 23, 2013. She offered to get me a room and I told her I wasn't sure I could make it to the motel before dark. She said she would book the room and wait there for me to call as to whether I could make it in time or not. I absolutely will not walk after dark! Less than a mile from the motel, which was a little off my route, a young lady, Kaili Riel, pulled over and wanted to hear all my story. I told her I was rushing to make it to the motel because it was nearly dark. "Well, why don't we just put your stuff in my Cherokee and I'll drive you there!" she suggested. We had to disassemble my cart but it got me off the narrow highway which was starting to freeze up on the shoulders from dropping temps Later, Terry and I had a great time over dinner before she had to run to babysit her granddaughter. Terry and Kaili, I thank you both from the very bottom of my heart!!!! There are just so many cool people in the world! LOVE LIFE.'
Terry Pendleton Sable yelled out from across the road, about 3 miles from Exeter, NH, “Steve Fugate!” Always a fuzzy feeling when you’re walking in an area 1600 miles from home. Terry, from nearby Kingston, NH, has been following me on this walk since I left Vero Beach, FL March 23, 2013. She offered to get me a room and I told her I wasn’t sure I could make it to the motel before dark. She said she would book the room and wait there for me to call as to whether I could make it in time or not. I absolutely will not walk after dark! Less than a mile from the motel, which was a little off my route, a young lady, Kaili Riel, pulled over and wanted to hear all my story. I told her I was rushing to make it to the motel because it was nearly dark. “Well, why don’t we just put your stuff in my Cherokee and I’ll drive you there!” she suggested. We had to disassemble my cart but it got me off the narrow highway which was starting to freeze up on the shoulders from dropping temps Later, Terry and I had a great time over dinner before she had to run to babysit her granddaughter. Terry and Kaili, I thank you both from the very bottom of my heart!!!! There are just so many cool people in the world! LOVE LIFE
