October 1, 2014 UPDATED ROUTE INFO

10/1/2014. My ride across Lake Michigan from Manitowoc, Wisconsin, to Ludington, Michigan, was awesome. A bit too chilly to stay out on deck where I prefer though. I spent four years, four months, eighteen days, four hours, thirty six minutes and seven seconds in the U S Navy. I loved every minute of it . I met an interesting person onboard and conversed with him some. His name was Saul Rubinek, he played the part of W. W. Beauchamp, the writer/biographer character, in the Clint Eastwood movie, The Unforgiven.

When I arrived at Ludington, Margi Ashton and her husband Monte, were on the dock waiting for me, just like she said she would. She also had for me something else she had promised, some of the best smoked salmon I ever tasted! Her son smoked it. They took me to the Mitten Bar: A Michigan Ideology. They only serve Michigan craft brewed beers there, cool! Of course, I had a double IPA with an awesome beef brisket sandwich. We had a great time and I met lots of people because Monte and Margi knew every single person in the packed out establishment. Monte is a popular local entertainer, a singer and guitarist. I lucked out and caught the two before they hightailed it out of the cold headed for Florida. They are obviously much more intelligent than I.

My route through Michigan will be: US 10 East from Ludington, passing through Scottville, Custer, Wahalla, Baldwin, Nirvana, Reed City, and Evart to MI 66 South passing through Barryton, Remus, six Lakes, Iona (30 miles East of Grand Rapids) to MI 50 South near Woodbury (20 miles West of Lansing) crossing I-69 at Charlotte, then passing through Eaton Rapids, Tompkins Center, and Jackson where I’ll take US 127 to US 223 to Adrian where I’ll take MI 52 into Ohio. I’ll get as close as 30 miles from Toledo. I avoid larger cities because they are slow to get through and expensive because there is no where to pitch a tent, I always have to get a room. Descent motels are more costly in Cities. LOVE LIFE my friends, I LOVE LIFE cause y’all are my friends. Reason enough!

