June 6, 2014

6/6/14. Wednesday, a fine young man, Tyrell Jacobs, stopped with a sandwich, jerky, and bottles of water. He had no idea what I was doing, he just loved my sign. Being an avid backpacker himself, he asked me, “You got any trash you want me to take for you?” Only a backpacker knows to ask that question because they know trash is extra weight and bother, but also know how conscious we are of keeping our beautiful land clean. After I told him of my relay ride to the Wild Land Firefighters Foundation Annual Memorial Ceremony from Grangeville, Idaho to Boise, Idaho, by Idaho Smokejumpers, he smiled big and proud as he told me he is a Montana Wild Land Firefighter. Tyrell suggested to me that I check out the Tenderfoot Motel when I reached White Sulfur Springs, Montana. He said it was a really cool place with private cabins. He was right, this place is great!

Today, At The River Outfitters deposited money in my account from tee shirt sales. Tiffany Long and Alma Arizpe graciously donate all profits from shirt sales to my walks. I was relieved that I would be able to buy supplies for the three day trek before I get to a grocery store again. I was trying to balance available funds to include getting a room for the night and supplies. As soon as I walked into the lobby of The Tenderfoot Motel, Dean Anderson, owner, said, “We’ve been waiting for you, Tyrell Jacobs and his parents called and told me about you. Your room is free. We had a suicide in town last night. Everyone knew him and it is just a shame. I just do not believe it is an accident you’re here. I’ve called the local newspaper for an interview with you tomorrow. I would like for you to speak to as many here as you can. You may stay here as long as you need.” He told me there was also a 16 year-old high school senior who had killed herself less than a year ago. I told Dean I would talk to anyone at any time day or night and for as long as they wish! LOVE LIFE is contagious and I’m going to spread it and the power of Love which goes with it, everywhere and whenever I can.

