February 12, 2014

2/12/14. In a motel room in Turlock, California. Yesterday, walking through the San Luis National Wildlife Reserve, being extra cautious because of a very thick fog, a man, maybe in his mid-thirties, pulled over to talk. I was surprised that anyone would risk pulling over on such a narrow shoulder in that fog. He told me he had seen me on the news out of Fresno. He told me over and over how wonderful he thought my walk was. After he had crossed the road back to his truck, he turned around and just looked at me without saying anything. Then, after opening his mouth several times with nothing coming out, he blurted out, “my brother killed himself!” He started crying. Through his tears, he said, “Thank you for what you’re doing.” He then quickly jumped into his truck. Later in the day, walking into Stevinson, another man stopped and handed me sixty dollars while expressing the gratitude he felt after seeing me on the Fresno news. Then he started telling of five friends who lost their children to suicide over his 70 years. As he said, “I knew everyone of those youngsters personally,” he started crying. Then he said, “Here, here’s some more.” And he handed me another forty dollars. Let’s make sure we are listening closely to others. Let’s make sure others are feeling our love. Let’s keep ourselves as happy as possible, our fellow human beings need to feel our joy over our love affair with life! LOVE LIFE my friends.

