January 27, 2014

1/27/14. I’m in my tent at Five Corners, California where CA 269 ends and intersects with CA 145. I am on the southeast corner across the road from the Five Corners Liquor Store. I went in the store to see if they knew who owned the property across from them so I could ask permission to tent there. The store owner was Abdul, who spoke very little English. I began by telling him how many miles I’d walked, how many times I’d crossed America and so on. For the most part, all he did was stare at me. And I’m thinking, this is going nowhere. Then, all of a sudden, he started explaining that the property belonged to some huge corporation somewhere. He walked outside and looked at my cart and then walked back in and started asking me all kinds of questions, struggling with his English, but getting his point made. I figured out that he was saying he didn’t think the big company would mind. I thanked him and ordered some fried chicken from his deli. He would not let me pay and told me to get a drink as well. He also told me he opened at 5:00 in the morning and for me to come in for coffee. We just never know what is inside another and why we have to leave all judging at the door. LOVE LIFE my friends and all who share it with us.

