September 3

Tomorrow morning, my other friend I came to visit, Grant County Deputy Sheriff Terry Maas, will take me back out to U. S. Highway 56 where my friend Spencer Dimmitt picked me up Sunday. It was nice to take a couple days off but I’m anxious to get back out there and meet new people. I love people! All I have to do is continue to love life and I will continue to run right smack into those that also love life. Here’s a little story I’m repeating because of the last words the fine young man had for me:

2008 while doing my “Shelly Walk” from corner to corner of America in honor of my beautiful little girl, at Grass Valley, Oregon, inside the Grass Valley Country Store and Deli, I met a young man working there who simply called himself Farmer Mike. He had a long, very well groomed ponytail that went to his waist. He gave me a large container of potato salad he had just made after I told him what I was doing and had given him my card. Later that day I was hopping around the little camp ground where I had my tent, looking for some shade where I could sit and use my laptop and be able to see the screen. It was a little awkward but hey, Doug, the manager of the campground let me camp for free, but anyway, a big 33′ motor home pulls in right beside my little bitty tent and stops. And Farmer Mike, whose hair is now loose from the pony tail, steps out of the motor home and says to me, “come over here please, I need to talk to you.” So I went up into the big motor home with him. He said, “I have never met anyone before who has had so much bad stuff happen to them and then turn it around and do such good things with it.” I said thanks. He went on. “Someone who walks as much as you shouldn’t have to sleep on the ground all the time, I brought this here for you to use.” He explained to me that he had picked the RV up for a very low price. He also said he lived on a nearby ranch at no charge and said he was very blessed and felt he had to pass it on. He started to walk off but turned and said, “When you get finished with your walking, please don’t forget the people you’re helping, stick with them, okay?” I answered, “Absolutely!” He smiled, walked over to the campground office, paid for two nights and then walked off toward town.

