August 23

I did 15 miles today and I’m in a motel on the west end of Lyons, Kansas. I’m 30 miles from Great Bend. This morning a couple on their way back from grocery shopping in Lyons, stopped and shared some of their fresh grapes and cherries. They were still chilled. Nice treat for sure. Not much happening today so here is something from past walks to encourage us to LOVE LIFE.

In 2008, I found a lady’s purse just outside of Indianapolis with all her credentials and driver’s license in it. I called her; she was delighted and came immediately to retrieve it. Just a little more than a couple hours before, as she was crossing a parking lot to a drugstore to get a prescription filled, a man had grabbed it. She was 88 years old (same age as my mother at the time.) and he threw her against a car. She had just put a hundred dollar bill in the purse to pay for her prescription. I felt terrible for her. But she said, “Hey, I’m 88 and this is the first time this has ever happened to me and we just have to let things go and go on.” She told me not to feel bad and offered me a ride through Indy which I turned down. She insisted I take ten dollars though, which I finally accepted. As she was walking back to her car she turned and with a big smile, said, “Oh, I really like your sign. I Love Life, always have.” What an attitude!

Walking in downtown Schenectady, N.Y. about 4:30 pm a lady passing by me looked up at my sign and said, “Thanks, I needed to see that, it’s been a rough day!” I said, “Thanks, I needed to hear that, it’s been a rough day!” We both laughed. LOVE LIFE my friends and you’re in a constant state of positivity that no negative dare try to penetrate.

